From Boxes to Solutions

“Intelligence is based on how efficient a species became at doing the things they need to survive.”

Charles Darwin

Back in the day, it was extremely common for a company to standardize their communications infrastructure on a single vendor. For instance, if I were to walk into a “Northern Telecom shop,” I was pretty confident that I would see a Meridian One for call processing, Meridian Mail for voice mail, Meridian ACD for call center routing (the term Contact Center had yet to be coined), Meridian MAX for call center reporting, and a slew of M2616 digital telephones. The same would hold true for Lucent, Rolm, Mitel, etc. There was a sameness to the PBX that started at the core and extended all the way to the handset.

In my latest article for No Jitter, I take a look at how communications business partners are evolving into systems integrators.

The Reinvention of the Communications Business Partner

P.S.  I realize that I haven’t posted a deep-in-the-weeds SIP article for a while.  Real life has kept me awfully busy and pounding out an article a week for No Jitter has taken up most of my writing time.  I will, however, carve out a few minutes very soon to crank out something more nerdy.


  1. Palwinder · · Reply

    Hi Andrew,

    Can you please cover SIP refer in one of your articles?


      1. Palwinder · ·

        Thank you sir!

Leave a Reply

